top of page
  • Health & Mind Club

Intellectual Humility - Recognizing the limitations of your knowledge

Why does intellectual humility matter?

When you approach life with intellectual humility, you open your mind to learning. You are able to learn from opposing views and have more constructive discussions, even when you disagree. No matter how old you are, with intellectual humility you become wiser. It helps you be less judgmental of others, learn more in school, and be a better leader.

Pulse Check

Think about yourself. How many of these things are true?

  • I question my own opinions, positions, and viewpoints because they could be wrong.

  • I reconsider my opinions when presented with new evidence.

  • I recognize the value of opinions that are different from my own.

  • I accept that my beliefs and attitudes may be wrong.

  • In the face of conflicting evidence, I am open to changing my opinions.

  • I like finding out new information that differs from what I already think is true.

How do I encourage intellectual humility in others?

  • Model it. Admit when you do not know or understand something:

“That’s a good question. I don’t know the answer but let us look it up.” Appreciate others’ insights and let them know when they raise a point that you hadn’t considered: “I never thought of it that way, so it’s interesting to hear what you have to say.” Be willing to change your mind and let people know when you do: “I’m convinced by articles I’ve read about the problem, so my views have shifted.”

  • Celebrate it. Recognize when someone demonstrates intellectual humility:

“I appreciate how open you’ve been to learn more about all sides of this issue.” Look for examples of intellectual humility in science, politics, and other areas; highlight these on social media.

  • Enable it

Value learning and point out that learning happens when you acknowledge what you do not know. At dinner, make a habit of sharing a question you have or one new thing you learned. Keep media from diverse perspectives in the house. Establish a birthday ritual of noting how you have changed your mind over the past year.


Source- Compiled


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Importance of relationships in a student’s life

People surrounding an individual play a very prominent role in their life. They affect us in such a strong way that they even control the simplest of simple things such as mood behavior etc. Surround

Journal Prompts for August

Use these daily prompts to reflect upon your day: Week 1 1. What was the greatest birthday you’ve ever had? What made it so special? 2. What is your superpower? Write about what makes you so good at t

bottom of page